Ministry of Mines

The Ministry of Mines (MoM), Government of India, is the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws relating to mines in India. This ministry is responsible for survey and exploration of all minerals, other than natural gases, petroleum and atomic minerals, for mining and metallurgy of non-ferrous metals and for administration of the Mines and Minerals Act, 1957 (Regulation and Development) in respect of all mines and minerals other than the fossil fuels.
The Geological Survey of India (GSI) and Indian Bureau of Mines (IBM) are two attached/ subordinate offices. In addition, MoM has are three Public Sector Undertakings, namely National Aluminium Company Limited (NALCO), Bhubaneshwar, Hindustan Copper Limited (HCL), Kolkata and Mineral Exploration corporation Limited (MECL), Nagpur as well as three autonomous Research Institutes which are autonomous bodies including NIRM. For further details about MoM, its functions and activities, please visit the following link : Ministry of Mines